top of page
Screen Shot 2018-11-22 at 18.40.58.png

M a t i l d a  V  N e l s o n

A n i m a t i o n

  • Writer's picturematildavnelson

PREPRODUCTION: INSTALLATION

I'm going to present the three sculptures in as a physical installation, in a gallery setting and/or as a public installation outdoors. I think it's quite important to me that the projections are presented to a physical audience because the magic of projection mapping is very tactile. Walking around an objects that appears to be moving is very intriguing and brings the world of media and animation into a physical tangible space, making you question what we consider media, sculpture and 'the screen'. I also like the idea of making something that can't be replicated, broadcasted or sold, the process of projection mapping onto sculptures and especially a real living person is a very ephemeral. I will of course document the installation through film for my own record, but I want the value of the work to be a physical interaction between the work and a real audience.


The Gallery space: E.21 ECA Main Building

I want the installation to be a presentation of the domestic objects as an object of wonder, where the objects are pointed out by the light of the projections. the viewer would walk around the installation freely as if it was someone's home. It would feel like a familiar space where they can look at ordinary objects and spaces in a different and intriguing way. Since the lockdowns, we are much familiar with the interior of our own homes and I think it would be an interesting time to reflect on these objects and spaces and where our minds have taken us in these spaces.


AND/OR Outdoor Public Installation:


Ideally, I'd like to have a Gallery installation and an outdoor installation, however, if I cannot have access to E.21 in ECA, I will definitely try to make an evening outdoor installation either in ECA courtyard or in an Edinburgh Park. If I were to set the installation in ECA courtyard I could use extension cords to supply the projectors and if I do it in the park I need to find a generator or use car batteries to power the projectors.

There's a clear technical advantage in setting the installation in ECA courtyard for the power source and permission, but I also think it would be really interesting to set the installation in a truly public space and see how the general public interact with it, I think the reaction might be worth capturing.


Why make the outdoor installation:

The three sculptures would be facing each-other to form a room with invisible walls.

The installation would be physically representing what my project is about; showing what's inside to the outside, showing the represented 'bubble' of experience to the public, which I like. I think I would even accentuate this idea of 'the invisible room by putting a rug down to make the sense of the indoors more tangible.

Whatever the final installation will be I will document it well, filming the installations themselves as well as people's interactions with them. If I can I would like to get a film student to do the filming, to reduce my work load, but also because I'd like it to be of good quality and I don't have so much experience in filming live action.


Equipment required:

-Sink: get a sink second hand sink on gumtree or other

-I have rug, duvet, tarp and all the other objects needed for the actual sculptures.

-Power source: loan a generator or use car batteries.

-Projectors: Loan projectors from ECA, maybe buy one for myself as well.


Contingency plan: If all of my option's fail due to Covid or any other reason, I will use a room from my flat, empty it, set up the installation and film it. The audience in this situation would have to be my flatmates, but everything else would stay the same.

10 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page