top of page
Screen Shot 2018-11-22 at 18.40.58.png

M a t i l d a  V  N e l s o n

A n i m a t i o n

  • Writer's picturematildavnelson

Cup of coffee

Updated: Dec 12, 2018



(Animatics in my dropbox)

Cup of coffee:

AIM: create 2 sequences of animation.

1-Happy person (Good mood) drinks bad coffee.

2 Sad person (Bad mood) drinks good coffee.


INITIAL IDEAS


I started this project by first thinking of the character and then built a story around them.


First sequence: a girl with knotted hair, baggy clothes and running make up sits down in a contrived space (behind a table) looking frail. We can assume she is hungover, ill or in a very bad mood because of something. Next to her is a flower pot with dreary flowers, to externalise her mood. A cup of coffee arrives to the table, which lights up her face. she looks down at the cup a few times before taking a sip. once she does, there is a blast of energy, her hair 'explodes' in a static movement, and then the viewer goes into the internal feeling of the coffee rush, with planes crashing and bursts of explosions. the more we go into her mind the more colourful everything becomes. The last scene her hair settles down, her mood is lifted and there is a little bit of colour on her cheeks.




Second sequence: I started by thinking about what makes a bad cup of coffee, is it too hot? in a bad place? bad service? bad company?






I decided to go with the idea of a bad date because "going for a coffee" is a classic date. So in the second sequence I wanted to show a guy getting a text on his phone to grab a coffee with who we assume is his girlfriend. They sit down and we watch the expressions on the man's face change from happiness to sadness, we see him reaching out to stop her leave and then we see looking down at the table to see that the waitress has served him his cup of coffee. He takes a sip and cries. It's a bad cup of coffee.



After designing both characters and writing down ideas in my sketchbook, I made two animatics, which I showed in the 28th of septembre Friday crit, I decided from this point I would only continue with the first sequence of the girl. Time wise I want to have at least in part some animation done within the 4 weeks given, and as it is the first 2D animation I would have ever done It's going to take me longer to learn how to do it. If i have time this semester I will come back to the second sequence to animate it.

I chose to leave the second sequence for now because before being able to show the subtitles and complex internal emotions such as love and heartache, I first need to learn basic animation!


The process of animating:

Formative-

what I submitted for the formative assessment was: my Animatic and half of my animated sequence. I think this went quite well, I enjoyed the aesthetic I'd created and the timing was good. However looking back I feel I would have liked to be more more consistent in my character. I felt like her face changed too much in different shots.

I think the moment the airplanes crash into each other to form fireworks worked quite well to show the caffeine rush of energy. However when I do the second half i'd like there to be more colour to show the more drastic change in state due to the coffee.

Summative-

Lack of time has meant that my decision making during the second half of the animation wasn't very good. I wanted to change from crayon to paint to show an explosion of colour, melting the firework colours together, an I feel thins didn't work at all... The transition between materials was too abrupt, and the painting was very time consuming which ended up being rushed.

Also due to lack of time I had to cut out some shots I wanted to integrate to the 'explosion' part of the sequence which I think would have made a positive difference.

On a more positive note, I'm fairly happy with the final scene, where her hair floats back down and curls healthily. I thought that worked quite well and I'd add a little more frames to the end but the essence can be understood.



Sketchbook Pictures:



6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page